Cilantro Jalepeno Lime Hummus

Did you know hummus is intended to be eaten at room temperature? Me neither. I just discovered that last week while stumbling upon an online article. My craving for cilantro, jalepeno and lime hummus was inspired by my patio herb and vegetable garden I started in April. I love experiment with new dishes when I cook, but purchasing herbs for one specific meal could be costly. Also, they often go to waste because I don’t get a chance to use them fast enough.

photo 2 copy

photo 1 copy

I installed a raised garden bed out on my patio, filled it with organic soil and began planting some of the seedlings I had started the month before. Sadly, only my organic cilantro, San Marzano tomato and cherry tomato crops survived. I went to Home Depot and the local farmer’s market to buy  some cilantro, bell peppers, parsley, oregano, kale, romaine lettuce, brussels sprouts, basil, Thai basil, sage and thyme to add to my garden. My friend, who has his own green house, brought over some eggplant, parsley, dill and tomatoes in exchange for some of my homemade  Jamaica Blue Mountain Coffee ice cream. Yum!

photo 1 copy 2  photo 2 copy 2  photo 3

photo 4

I would say I have more of a brown thumb than a green one but my herb garden is thriving. The crops have double, and in some instances, tripled in size since I planted them.

Cilantro, jalepeno, lime hummus

Ingredients

  • 1 16 oz can of chickpeas or garbanzo beans
  • 1/4 cup liquid from can of chickpeas
  • 3-5 tablespoons lime juice (depending on taste)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons tahini
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 jalepeno seeded

Drain chickpeas and set aside liquid from can. Combine remaining ingredients in food processor. Add 1/4 cup of liquid from chickpeas. Mix until smooth. Drizzle in olive oil until desired consistency.

Place in serving bowl, and create a shallow well in the center of the hummus and pour in a tablespoon of olive oil. Refrigerate whatever you don’t eat.

 

hummus

photo 3 copy 2

 

3 responses to “Cilantro Jalepeno Lime Hummus

  1. I love humus myself but never tried this flavor. I will try the recipe and let you know…..yummy!

Leave a Reply

