Blueberry fever

I’ve got blueberries on my mind and some in my tummy.

A colleague of mine travels around West Virginia, with a news camera in tote, to show viewers all the cool places the Mountain State has to offer. His most recent travel to White Oak Farm left me with a blueberry stain on my mind.  People can grab a bucket and pick their own blueberries off trees for $20 a pound at the farm. Since his story Friday, I’ve been thinking about blueberry muffins, blueberry swirls in vanilla ice cream and cheesecake topped with a blueberry sauce.

cu

I usually don’t like fruit sauces; I can’t stand the artificial look those shiny sauces give off when they’re on top of pies or stuffed in donuts. I wanted my blueberry topping as natural as possible. A pint of blueberries, butter, organic sugar, lemon and lime juice were all I needed to make my “healthy-girl cheesecake” shine.

Blueberry Sauce Recipe:

Melting 2 teaspoons unsalted butter in a saucepan over medium heat; add 1 pint blueberries and 1/4 cup sugar, 1 tablespoon of lemon, 1 tablespoon of lime. Cook, stirring, until blueberries release juices, about 2 minutes. Cool slightly and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

