Natural Journey: Month 6

Has half a year arrived already? Where has the time gone? I cannot believe I sat in my hairdresser’s chair six months ago today and told her to chop my hair off. All of it!

bigchop

The day of my Big Chop

My Big Chop has been liberating. It has also been a scary experience. That’s because I have not seen my natural hair texture since I was 11-years-old. I had no idea what my hair would look or feel like, but I have since gotten over that fear. I also had to tackle issues such as porosity and dryness head on. I invested in a hair steamer, bought natural hair products and hair scarfs all in an effort to grow healthier hair. Growing natural hair has been tedious but there hasn’t been a day when I thought about going back to harsh chemical relaxers and extensions. And for that, my hair has thanked me by growing strong and unique.

Six months down, infinite to go!

Leave a Reply

