Sorrel for the holidays

West Indians love drinking sorrel around the holidays. My mom made sure to have bottles filled in our refrigerator with the fruity, fragrant drink during the Christmas holiday season and sporadically throughout the year.

What is sorrel you ask? Sorrel is a perennial herb that is cultivated as a garden herb or leaf vegetable, according to Wikipedia. Sorrel is similar in taste to hibiscus. Jamaicans — and other Caribbean people — use the sepals from the plant to make the popular drink I have grown to love. It’s difficult to find sorrel (sepals) in South Dakota … so my mother sent me some from New York in the weeks leading up to Christmas.

Making the drink is pretty simple. All you have to do is the following:

  1. Put a pot of water to boil
  2. Rinse the sepals in water
  3. Grate a piece of ginger root over pot of water
  4. Turn off pot and put sepals inside
  5. Let the mixture cool for a few hours
  6. Strain, sweeten with sugar and add whole allspice (preservative)
  7. Enjoy

 

2 responses to “Sorrel for the holidays

  1. The photo flashed at before I read the title, and I thought, ‘that looks like sorrel.’ Great scot, it is. I hate sorrel. Always did. Everyone I knew in Barbados as a kid growing up loved it. Granny always made it fresh, but I was a Ribena kind of guy. I eventually came to appreciate, but only as an adult. I’m in Berlin right now, no Caribbean grannies about brewing sorrel or mauby or ginger drinks, but I sure wish they were. Lovely little post,, thanks for the memories of home.
    Best regards for 2013. Guten Rutsch.

Leave a Reply

