A sweet mix

Everyone who knows me well is aware I love being in the kitchen. I enjoy cooking, but baking has a sweet spot in my heart. That’s why I was so ecstatic about the Christmas gift my sister in New York sent to me; a stand mixer. Gone are the days slaving over a bowl of cookie dough with that dreadful hand mixer.

On Saturday I decided to give my new kitchen appliance a whirl by whipping up a batch of homemade banana cinnamon pancakes. I love bananas but I just can’t keep up with how quickly they ripen. So my idea of making pancakes with them just seemed to come at a perfect time. The pancakes, in addition to the homemade syrup, made my kitchen smell lovely. And they sure brought a smile to my housemates as we gobbled them down with scrambled eggs.

IMG_0763

IMG_0820

IMG_0821

IMG_0824

If you have some bananas sitting around your kitchen be sure to give  the following recipe a try:

  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 3 tbs sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbs vegetable oil
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cinnamon

1. Mix all the ingredients together until incorporated. Mash the banana well and fold it in the batter.

2. Heat a nonstick skillet to medium heat and coat pan with butter and pour about a quarter cup of batter into the pan. Wait until the edges set and then flip till cooked.

Nom Nom!

One response to “A sweet mix

Leave a Reply

