That “Dark Knight” will not rise!

I was planning to write a review Friday about my impression of  “The Dark Knight Rises,” which I stayed up way past my bedtime to watch the midnight showing opening night in Rapid City, SD.  Instead, my heavy heart has persuaded me to speak about the tragedy that took place in Aurora, Colorado as other moviegoers flocked to see the much-anticipated flick.

While death is the only thing guaranteed in life, it’s not fair for anyone to have to die by  gun, knife, or by the hands of another human being. Who are we to decide when it’s time for someone else to go? It’s a sad, evil and corrupted  world we live in where people are killed while attending church, working out at a gym, attending a political event, or most recently, watching a movie.

I used to complain about watching a movie in Valley Stream, NY because you would have to go through a metal detector and scanner in order to enter the theater. My friends and I would avoid Green Acres Cinemas because we thought the idea of the extra security was “ghetto.” In light of recent events I am thankful such measures were in place.

Early Friday morning 12 people lost their lives and 71 others were injured –including a 3 month old — when alleged 24-year-old  James Holmes dressed up in body armor, used an assault rifle, a shotgun and a Glock handgun inside a packed theater.

I find it ironic that Holmes, who described himself to Aurora police as”The Joker,” would target innocent people at a Batman movie. Batman never promoted guns Mr. Holmes, nor is Aurora Gotham City! If your motive was to be a villain and to destroy a city, you have certainly done so. Not only is the Aurora community mourning, the entire nation is affected by this tragedy. You sir are “The Dark Knight,”  but unlike Batman, you will not rise!

My thoughts and prayers are with the victims and their families.

Leave a Reply

