Rapid City is burning

One week ago I took a beautiful hike up to “M hill” in Rapid City and was mesmerized by the beauty of nature. Today, it’s a different story. Those same trails I hiked are now on fire.

A hundred acres are burning as the Rapid City Fire Department and helicopters are working to contain the blaze and keep the city safe.  Driving on Interstate 90, it’s hard not to see dark plumes of smoke and smell burnt trees and grass. I wish I could capture those images but I had to keep my hands on the steering wheel.

Here’s a look at the “Cowboy Hill Fire” from the downtown area:ImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

